“Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close” by Jonathan Safran Foer

I just finished this book, and now that I’ve stopped crying I figured it was time to post some of my favorite quotes.

…we laughed and laughed, together and separately, out loud and silently, we were determined to ignore whatever needed to be ignored, to build a new world from nothing if nothing in our world could be salvaged, it was one of the best days of my life, a day during which I lived my life and didn’t think about my life at all.

…sometimes I can hear my bones straining under the weight of all the lives I’m not living.

When I was a girl, my life was music that was always getting louder. Everything moved me. A dog following a stranger. That made me feel so much. A calendar that showed the wrong month. I could have cried over it. I did. Where the smoke from a chimney ended. How an overturned bottle rested at the edge of a table. I spent my life learning to feel less. Every day I felt less. Is that growing old? Or is it something worse? You cannot protect yourself from sadness without protecting yourself from happiness.

I regret that it takes a life to learn how to live…

He promised us that everything would be OK. I was a child, but I knew that everything would not be OK. That did not make my father a liar. It made him my father.

2 Comments

Filed under katie, short words from long reads

2 responses to ““Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close” by Jonathan Safran Foer

  1. Mel

    So, before I just kinda thought I needed to read this book. Now I know I need to read it! Thank you for sharing!

  2. Oh wow, I had completely forgotten how much I cherish this book. These are my favorites (which, Katie, I know you would have included but then eventually you would have just posted the entire book)

    “I like to see people reunited, maybe that’s a silly thing, but what can I say, I like to see people run into each other, I like the kissing and the crying, I like the impatience, the stories that the mouth can’t tell fast enough, the ears that aren’t big enough, the eyes that can’t take in all of the change, I like the hugging, the bringing together, the end of missing someone…”

    “I shook my tambourine the whole time, because it helped me remember that even though I was going through different neighborhoods, I was still me.”

Leave a Reply

