what we like this week

Katie

  • Parenthood makes me sob on a weekly basis. This piece by Emily Nussbaum for the New Yorker nails those feelings on the head. What a great show. (via Kathryn)
  • Long form journalism like this is utterly captivating. Couldn’t stop reading. (via Wired)
  • A TED talk about why vulnerability matters. Good stuff.
  • The 1973 animated version of “The Giving Tree,” animated by Shell Silverstein himself. I’m crying. (via Brain Pickings)
  • And in honor of New Years (one of my favorite holidays mind you) here’s a video of Zooey Deschanel and Joseph Gordon-Levitt sing a duet of a dreamy version of “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?” by Nancy Wilson (via HelloGiggles)

Emily

  • Kid literary characters and their grown up counterparts- file this under: things I get way too excited about (via Brain Pickings)
  • Once I got an email from a friend that said “I love that we have lived to see the day when cooking videos have become artistically sound.” I whole-heartedly agree. Watch this one.
  • The Washington Post has put out their annual list of what’s in and what’s out for 2012. I consider myself pretty with it when it comes to culture but I don’t know what half of this is. Also quinoa is out and Ryan Gosling?! I demand a recount.
  • Color typewriter– this is amazing!
  • When I was little I loved Lemony Snicket and his “Series of Unfortunate Events” books so I was delighted to find this tumblr filled with his advice. Check it out, even if you’ve never read the books.
1 Comment

Filed under emily, friday links, katie

One response to “what we like this week

  1. Oh man I cry like a baby during every single episode of Parenthood, to!

Leave a Reply

