what we like this week

Emily

  • First up- a real life Homeward Bound story! It inspired me to watch this clip and weep. (ps I really wanted Peter Seaver to be my boyfriend when I was little, and I sort of still do.)
  • Due to light pollution, by the year 2020 only 10% of Americans will be able to view the stars. This lovely NYC installation hopes to teach more people about the issue.
  • I love this photo essay of Russian prime minister Vladimir Putin who is apparently trying very hard to cultivate some sort of “Man of Action” image. Almost as good as “Kim Jong-Il looking at things”
  • Why does so much weird stuff happen at Wal-Mart? NPR explores this pressing issue.
  • All together now, “Awwwww”
  • I already shared my thoughts on bar carts earlier this week, and if you’ve been inspired Society Social is a great place to get one! What’s not to love about a company whose manifesto is “We believe that life is a grand celebration, that means everyday, and poppin’ bottles is something we do with frightening regularity.” [via APieceOfToast]
Katie
  • I had a rush of anxiety the other day because I had this terrible thought that watches are becoming obsolete. What if cell phones are taking their place!? “Not on my watch,” I said to myself (pun of course intended). I’m buying this one as soon as I get my first paycheck.
  • Ahhh Chicago. Find out why my new home is so awesome.
  • Foster the People Tiny Desk Concert. Need I say more?
  • I am totally digging Ryan Plett‘s new Tumblr, “TravelWell.” Described as “a photographic journal showcasing various destinations, unique style, and intriguing experiences throughout the globe,” it is lovely to feast your eyes on. I’m excited to see where he goes with it! Also, see if you can spy Seth in one of the photos!
  • Ok, I’m almost positive that no one will read this, but I couldn’t help myself. Here’s an article titled “The Dark Side of the Placebo Effect: When Intense Belief Kills (via The Atlantic)” This is some crazy shit, ya’ll!
Leave a comment

Filed under emily, friday links, katie

Leave a Reply

