one more reason i’m great on first dates

I’ve been on first dates where boys have asked me ‘so who is your favorite author?’ I get excited, scooting forward in my seat, thinking that this question must reveal something unmistakable about this boy. Maybe he cares about books and stories as much as I do! So I spastically blurt out “Sylvia Plath…without a doubt!” This always elicits concerned looks. “Didn’t she kill herself? By like sticking her head in the oven?” I defend her, saying “Her life was really hard, ok? Haven’t you read The Bell Jar?” Needless to say, I’m still single.

That being said, I feel like its about time I paid tribute to this amazing woman. Here are some of my favorite quotes:

I can never read all the books I want; I can never be all the people I want and live all the lives I want. I can never train myself in all the skills I want. And why do I want? I want to live and feel all the shades, tones and variations of mental and physical experience possible in life. And I am horribly limited.

And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt

Remember, remember, this is now, and now, and now. Live it, feel it, cling to it. I want to become acutely aware of all I’ve taken for granted.

Can you understand? Someone, somewhere, can you understand me a little, love me a little? For all my despair, for all my ideals, for all that – I love life. But it is hard, and I have so much – so very much to learn.

She died at the age of 30, which is the saddest part of the story. She left behind journals, poems, and novels that document her struggle with depression and her desire to live. All her works overflow with an intense desire to be understood by a society that didn’t know how to deal with depression. Even so, she captures life in a beautiful way. And THAT is why she is my favorite author, which is a fact I will continue to admit at dinner parties, on first dates, and to anyone else who asks.

2 Comments

Filed under katie, short words from long reads

2 responses to “one more reason i’m great on first dates

  1. cmeagher

    did anyone ever think, maybe sylvia plath wasn’t crazy, she was just cold?

  2. cmeagher

    Also once, I had to do some sort of report/paper on The Bell Jar and so I highlighted/underlined/circled particularly intense/depressing phrases and sentences in the book to reference later. Then my sister read the book. She got worried.

Leave a Reply

