people we know and like: molly cover

I knew Molly Cover way back when she was still Molly Boggs, Artisan barista and queen of the downtown hipsters. As a freshman, I would hole up for hours in the bunker of the Artisan with my pita bread and hummus and journal about how I had no friends. Molly was usually behind the counter or just strutting around in some vintage clothes being awesome. “That girl is SO cool,” I thought to myself basically every day.

A few years later, I ended up making some friends who were also Molly’s friends. All of the sudden the cool downtown barista was MY friend. It turned out that she wasn’t the unapproachable kind of cool I had imagined her to be, she was the “watch 6 episodes of Degrassi*, listen to Lil’ Romeo and then go drink a bunch of wine” kind of cool, which is way better.  Shortly thereafter, she became Molly Cover, wife of David, owner of TimRiggins, early childhood director at my church, and my go-to friend for eating sushi.

Sometimes Molly and I like to invent scenarios wherein we run the world and make everything better. The best of these plans was our idea for a wine delivery service for people who are sitting at home on a Friday night (or Tuesday morning, we’re not here to judge) and want a glass or so of wine but are too lazy to go to the store. We would obviously be the bosses of this company and because we are so efficient we would only have to work about ten hours a week. (Call us if you’re interested in funding this venture.)

Most of all,  Molly is a wonderful listener and advice giver. She is full of wisdom both serious and otherwise. She gave me great advice when I was thinking about quitting my job earlier this year but also tells me things like “Emily, when you get married you should watch a lot of TV on DVD” and “never ever stop drinking wine, also don’t marry a vegetarian.” She has the rare gift of totally validating everything you say but at the same time helping you realize that mayyyybe you might be a tiny bit wrong. I don’t know how she does it, but I’m so thankful for it. Molly is one of those people who should have a blog and doesn’t. She once had a blog with the best name ever “Molly Bloggs Cover” and why she doesn’t still use it is a mystery to me. Lucky for me, (and you!) she has agreed to do some guest posts for us on subjects Katie and I have no expertise on, like how to live with a boy and a dog.

In case this glowing review hasn’t been enough to convince you how great she is, she agreed to answer the official “but first, coffee questionnaire” to further convince you.

1. What is your memoir title?
I’m Going to be Late, but I’m Bringing Wine; a memoir by Molly Cover

2. What is your favorite thing on the internet right now?
Pinterest. I’m really good at it.

3. Whats your most embarrassing song in your top 25 most played?
I’ll just direct you to my running playlist. It is basically every overplayed pop song that I discovered 2 months after it was cool. Highlights include “Your Love Is My Drug”, “Party In The U.S.A.”, and yes, I’m still listening to “Since You’ve Been Gone.”

4. What fictional character do you most identify with?
My 1st grade self is screaming, “Kelly Kapowski!” My 26 year-old self is probably a sad mix of Liz Lemon from 30 Rock, Pam from The Office, and Don Draper from Mad Men.

5. Whats on your nightstand?
Dog hair, a Westminster Christian Academy cup (go Wildcats), The History of Love, and my kindle.

6. What is your favorite word?
Ding-dong (my softer synonym for “idiot”)

7 .What do you most value in your friends?
Encouragement, honesty, and a good sense of humor.

8. What would you make a documentary about?
Well right off the bat I’ll tell you that it will be about food. Probably baking. I haven’t hammered out the details, but I’d like to follow the lives of 5 different bakers in 5 different bakeries.  See what they do, why they bake, and what inspires them. Either that or another “Say Yes To The Dress” spin-off.

9. What’s the best group project you’ve ever participated in?
EASY. Spanish 3. First semester of my senior year of college. Brian Sturgill and I did a project on El Dia De Los Muertos (the Day of the Dead). It started with Brian acting out his death in a motorcycle crash while “Leader of the Pack” played in the background. We switched to me recounting my memories of him as I stared at his framed senior picture (but I was mainly laughing). We ended with “Crossroads” by Bone Thugs n’ Harmony as Brian walked out in a skeleton mask and taught the class about El Dia De Los Muertos in broken spanish. Then I handed out Halloween cookies. Most of the preparation was spent looking for the mask and buying the cookies at Walmart. We both got A’s.

Molly, you’re the best!

*for the woefully uninformed, Degrassi is a Canadian soap opera for teenagers that tackles EVERY issue that has ever effected teenagers, including testicular cancer. It goes there, guys.

3 Comments

Filed under emily, people we know and like

3 responses to “people we know and like: molly cover

  1. haleyg

    Yes. MoBoCo. I love this statement: “She has the rare gift of totally validating everything you say but at the same time helping you realize that mayyyybe you might be a tiny bit wrong.” I’ve experienced it. She’s awesome.

  2. Pingback: I’m Back! « mollybloggscover

  3. Pingback: a married girl’s guide to being single by molly cover |

Leave a Reply

